Breaking: 2017 public holidays announced

by Miklos Bolza05 Apr 2016
The Ministry of Manpower (MOM) has announced the 11 gazetted public holidays for 2017. HR professionals should take note of the following dates:
Holiday Date Day
New Year’s Day 1 January Sunday
New Year’s Day (observed) 2 January Monday
Chinese New Year 28 January
29 January
Chinese New Year (observed) 30 January Monday
Good Friday 14 April Friday
Labour Day 1 May Monday
Vesak Day 10 May Wednesday
Hari Raya Puasa 25 June Sunday
Hari Raya Puasa (observed) 26 June Monday
National Day 9 August Wednesday
Hari Raya Haji 1 September Friday
Deepavali 18 October Wednesday
Christmas Day 25 December Monday
Under the Employment Act (EA), employees required to work on a public holiday are entitled to an extra day’s salary at the basic rate of pay, the Ministry said. Both employee and employer can also mutually agree to substitute a public holiday for another working day.
Employers also have the option of granting managers and executives time-off-in-lieu of a public holiday provided that the individual earns a basic monthly salary of up to $4,500. This time off should contain a pre-agreed upon number of hours.
The EA also states that if a public holiday falls on a Saturday, employees who are not required to work on that day are entitled to an additional day off or an extra day’s salary in lieu of the holiday.


Most Read